Scones feat. Aix et Terra

DSC_1926

One thing I’ll always eat when I’m in the U.K. are scones. And since I discovered them I really wanted to try them out myself but somehow I never found the opportunity. When I was in the south of France this summer I was in Aix-en-Provence one day and I really wanted to get some hand-made presents like soaps or Calissons. I found this tiny shop in the centre of the city and firstly I fell in love to the packaging. I entered the shop and I was astonished by all the lovely creations the had. I was able to test their lemon curd and some more flavours and just in that moment I remembered my plan of making scones. The lemon curd and the crème da caramel landed in my shopping bag and back at home they were served with freshly made scones. 

I really can recommend you the shop Aix and Terra since they have regional inspired products and I love discovering new tastes. And I mean the beautiful packaging is a plus too 😉 Check out their website http://www.aixetterra.com to discover more creations and be sure to visit the shop when you’re in Aix-en-Provence.

DSC_1907_1

1. Mix all your dry ingredients into a bowl.

2. Cut the butter into small squares and rub it into the flour mixture until you have a lot of crumbs.

3. Mix one egg (you’ll need the second one later) with your milk and add it to your flour mixture bowl. Knead it until you have a nice dough.

4. If you want to make chocolate scones you can chop your chocolate and add it to the dough.

5. Take out your dough and place it onto a table. Roll out your dough until it’s two centimeters thick. Take a small glass or a round cookie cutter and cut your scones out.

6. Place them onto a baking tray (with baking parchment of course). Take your egg and mix it in a separate bowl and use a brush to spread some over the scones. Sprinkle some brown sugar over the scones.

7. Bake them for 15 minutes (golden brown) at 230 degrees in your oven.

DSC_1918

DSC_1923

DSC_1915

Leave a Reply

