Motivational Books for 2016

Motivational_Books_1

Everyone is so enthusiastic when a new year begins and they create lists of plans they want to do. This counts for me as well. But sadly the plans fade by the end of January because the daily life has us in it’s hands.

This year I don’t want this happen to me! A lot of people think new year, new chance. But what about new month, new chance or even new day, new chance? I’m a huge book lover and lately I’ve been reading some really inspirational books. One thing I’ve learnt: You can’t change things from one day to another.

The wish of change can’t be fulfilled by only wanting it. You have to dig deeper. Why do you want it? Which benefits does it bring? How will it influence your daily life positively?

Here are some books I can really recommend:

Motivational_Books_2

  1. The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying by Marie Kondo. This book was mentioned by so many Youtubers and Bloggers in 2015. In the beginning I wondered if the book really was worth the hype. Finally, in December I decided that I wanted to read the book and I have to admit, it’s pretty good. Marie Kondo wrote the book in a way that you want to start tidying. While I was reading, there were so many passages where I though this was so true. In this book you’re confronted with the real origin of questions while you’re tidying – incredible! I’ve already wrote down a date when I’m starting to tidying with the KonMari method.
  2. The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. A precious treasure which shows you the things which make us happy in the everyday life. I’ve read this book last summer but somehow I lost track in the last few chapters. But since it’s a new year it’s a perfect opportunity to start reading this book because the chapters are divided into months. Gretchen Rubin shares her struggles and shows a human side, you can really relate to her. I think the division into months is great, every month you have a new chance and you’re constantly doing something for your happiness.
  3. Die Kunst, ein kreatives Leben zu führen by Frank Berzbach. Unfortunately, only a book in German but to you German speaking readers out there: It’s a real gem! This book is perfect for times when you fell sad and got the feeling that you can’t accomplish anything. Let’s be real – we all have those days. The good thing about this book is that you can read small chapters for a motivation boost.
  4. Living Well One Line a Day by Chronicle Books. I’ve received this lovely book on Christmas 2014 and I was so pumped to start writing in this book. Unfortunately, it only lasted for two weeks. But reading through the things I wrote down last year really motivated me to start again. Don’t give yourself the pressure to fill in every day. I think this book is especially interesting in your early 20’s – it’s the time when a lot of changes happen and I can imagine myself reading through this diary in a few years.
  5. The 52 Lists Project by Moorea Seal. A pretty book I just discovered recently. Such a simple idea and such a beautiful outcome! It’s perfect to star now because every week you’re supposed to write a list to a specific theme. Writing things out and visualising them helps you to get aware of the things you want to focus on. The beautiful design of this book supports you with writing down your list every week.

How about you? How do you motivate yourself and how to do you keep it going? Do you have some book recommendations as well? Let me know in the comments!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

